What Is a Class A Refurbished Device? Rick's Home and Office Grade Guide

What Is a Class A Refurbished Device? Rick's Home and Office Grade Guide

Understanding Class A refurbished computers

A refurbished computer is not the same as a new computer, and its cosmetic grade should not be confused with its functional testing or warranty. At Rick's Home and Office, buyers should read the Class A designation alongside the individual product description. This guide explains Distribution S.I.'s (DSI) published classifications and the details listed for our ThinkCentre M720Q ECO PC.

Cosmetic condition: Class A is not like-new

DSI's REC cross-reference table, revised June 5, 2026, maps used-computer Class A and A- to C5: used, very good condition. It allows scratches or other surface imperfections from regular use, minor label wear, and minor dents or discolouration from label removal. No parts are missing.

DSI lists used-computer A+ separately at C6, excellent condition. Class A should therefore not be described as flawless, like-new, or DSI's highest cosmetic grade. The table also grades monitors separately, so the computer grading should not automatically be applied to a monitor.

Functional testing is a separate classification

DSI's F5 refurbished classification describes equipment whose functions have all been tested and verified through manual or software testing. It specifies legally licensed software loaded and configured for full operation, available software test results, and no hardware or software defects.

A cosmetic Class A label alone does not establish an F5 classification for a particular unit. Ask us to confirm the applicable functional classification and any available test results for the device you are considering. The classification document does not specify stress-test durations, storage-health thresholds, thermal-paste replacement or individual port-testing procedures.

Battery health: ask for the individual laptop's report

The supplied DSI classification table does not state a minimum battery-health percentage, guaranteed runtime or battery-warranty terms. Do not assume that Class A means a new battery or an 80% minimum capacity.

Before buying a refurbished laptop, ask for its measured full-charge capacity compared with design capacity, the report date, and the applicable battery coverage. If that information is not shown in the listing, ask us before ordering. The ThinkCentre M720Q is a desktop mini PC, so laptop battery-runtime expectations do not apply to it.

Warranty: use the product-specific coverage

Our ThinkCentre M720Q ECO PC listing states a two-year parts-and-labour warranty provided by DSI, covering hardware defects and repairs. This is separate from Lenovo's coverage and applies to this refurbished unit.

Do not assume the same warranty applies to every refurbished product. The sources reviewed for this guide do not provide detailed exclusions, battery coverage, shipping responsibilities or claim procedures. Ask us to confirm the written terms for your chosen product before purchase.

Windows and licensing

The ThinkCentre M720Q listing specifies Windows 11 pre-installed. Separately, DSI's F5 definition requires legally licensed software configured for full operation. The Class A cosmetic grade itself does not identify a Windows edition, licence type or activation method.

For your chosen computer, confirm the Windows edition and activation status before purchase. Neither the listing nor the classification table establishes that every unit uses an embedded OEM key, carries a Certificate of Authenticity sticker or includes a separate 30-day activation guarantee.

What comes with the ThinkCentre M720Q?

The current listing specifies an Intel Core i5-8500T processor at 2.1GHz, 16GB RAM, a 256GB SSD, Windows 11 pre-installed, and an included wireless keyboard and mouse. It also lists the DSI two-year parts-and-labour warranty.

For power accessories, monitors or any other items not explicitly listed, confirm the package contents with us before ordering. We do not promise a printed inspection checklist based on the available documentation.

View the ThinkCentre M720Q (ECO PC Refurbished - Class A).

More ECO-PC certified refurbished options

Dell Latitude 5520: Grade B and Grade A configurations

The Dell Latitude 5520 listing offers an Intel Core i7-1185G7 processor, 16GB RAM and a 15.6-inch Full HD display. SKU 520-I7-11-USE is the Grade B (Good Value) configuration with a 256GB NVMe SSD. The separately listed Grade A configuration has a 512GB NVMe SSD and SKU 520-I7-11-512-USE. Certified refurbished does not automatically mean Class A: select the grade and storage configuration that suits you.

The listing describes diagnostic checks covering the motherboard, CPU, RAM, display, keyboard and ports, plus battery cycle-count and retention testing. It specifies a fresh, fully activated Windows 11 Pro installation and a compatible AC/USB-C power adapter and charging cable. It does not give a numerical battery-health minimum or warranty duration; ask us to confirm those details before purchase.

View the Dell Latitude 5520 and select your configuration.

HP ProBook 650 G8: Grade A / A-

SKU 650G8-15-11-USE is the HP ProBook 650 G8, described in its listing as Grade A / A- ECO-PC certified refurbished. It includes an Intel Core i5-1135G7 processor, 16GB RAM, a 256GB NVMe SSD, a 15.6-inch Full HD display and Windows 11 Pro.

The listing specifies a two-year warranty provided by DSI and facilitated locally by Rick's Home and Office. Confirm the detailed coverage and exclusions, measured battery health, Windows activation status and included power accessories before purchase, as those details are not stated in the listing reviewed for this guide.

View the HP ProBook 650 G8.

Our advice before you buy

Check cosmetic condition, functional testing, warranty terms, laptop battery health where applicable, Windows details and included accessories for the exact device. Ask us about anything not stated in its listing so you know what to expect.

Sources

This guide draws on DSI's Certifications page, its REC cross-reference table (revision June 5, 2026), and Rick's Home and Office's ThinkCentre M720Q, Dell Latitude 5520 and HP ProBook 650 G8 product descriptions. DSI describes its own R2V3 certification on its website; this is not a claim that Rick's Home and Office holds that certification.